4215工作室研究了如何调整城市的织物,使行人舒适,同时学习新旧建筑学习经验

为什么是迪拜?

研究任务

随着世界转向迪拜参加2020年世博会,强调这座城市为极端炎热气候的发展所提供的教训变得非常重要。迪拜的几个特点使其成为一个理想的案例研究,比如城市不同地区在城市密度和建筑高度方面的对比。户外公共空间的极端天气对比强调了被动设计措施的重要性,如遮阳、景观和水景,在提供户外热舒适方面的重要性。

选择迪拜的另一个主要因素是,这座城市提供了机会,了解即使在短步行距离内也能经历的条件的重大变化。因此,本研究分析了现状,并提出了一套被动设计干预措施,以改善户外开放空间的环境性能。

该研究的第一部分比较和调查了可以被认为是新旧迪拜的城市结构之间的差异。城市结构的松散或紧密性的差异,建筑相互保护或遮蔽的能力以及公共空间的差异。在迪拜标志性建筑的新部分建造时,迪拜的旧部分,曾经是城市的商业中心,继续以同样高的客流量运作。因此,本研究调查了建筑密度的差异及其对行人舒适性条件的影响。

结果

通过采用不同的被动设计和冷却策略,可以显著提高迪拜传统和现代地区的户外热舒适性。

条件的分析发现旧和新城市的部分表明,他们都是表现良好的日间户外舒适,但城市织物场景提供一系列的可能性开发成功和舒适的开放空间为一个极端和炎热的气候像迪拜。通过ENVI-met的模型模拟,可以预测感知温度高达25摄氏度的局部改善,这可能很容易触发行为变化,并鼓励人们步行和使用户外空间。

Deira传统地区密集的城市织物在热舒适性方面有显著改善,对应用被动和低能量设计策略反应良好。热应力可以从“极端”降低到“中等”,因为一个密集的城市结构和它能够“包含”应用策略的效果。

紧邻塔的区域,代表了现代迪拜,由于其剪切尺度,对应用策略有了适度的改进,但仍然提供了一个持续改善行人舒适度的空间。

通过ENVI-met软件进行的比较和量化显示,在这两种情况下,热应力水平都显著降低,并进一步突出了迪拜在创造和树立伟大户外空间的榜样方面的巨大潜力。
 

 

观看概要

Studio 4215 examines how to adapt the city’s fabric for pedestrian comfort, while learning from the old and the new Dubai.

Why Dubai?

As the world turned to Dubai for the World Expo 2020, it becomes important to highlight the lessons the city has to offer for developments in extreme hot climates. Several characteristics of Dubai make it an ideal case study, like the contrast between different parts of the city in terms of urban density and building heights. The extreme weather contrasts between day and night in outdoor public spaces underline the importance of passive design measures such as shading, landscape and water features in providing outdoor thermal comfort.

Another major factor for choosing Dubai was that the city provides the opportunity to understand the significant change in conditions one could experience even within short walking distances. The study analyses therefore the current conditions and proposes a set of passive design interventions to improve the environmental performance of outdoor open spaces.

The first part of the study compares and investigates the differences between the urban fabric of what could be considered as old and new Dubai. The differences in looseness or tightness of the urban fabric, the ability of the buildings to protect or shade each other and the public spaces in between. As in the new parts of Dubai iconic buildings are built, the old part of Dubai, Deira, once the commercial centre of the city, continues to function with an equally high footfall. The research investigates therefore the differences in the built density and its impact on the pedestrian comfort conditions.

Results

By applying different passive design and cooling strategies, the outdoor thermal comfort can be significantly improved for both the traditional and the modern parts of Dubai.

The analysis of the conditions found for the old and the new parts of the city showed that neither of them is well-performing in terms of daytime outdoor comfort, but both urban fabric scenarios offer a range of possibilities to develop successful and comfortable open spaces for an extreme and hot climate like Dubai. Through the model simulation with ENVI-met, local improvements of up to 25 °C in perceived temperature could be forecasted which could easily trigger behavioural changes and encourage people to walk and use outdoor spaces.

The dense urban fabric in the traditional quarter of Deira showed significant improvements in thermal comfort and responded well to the applied passive and low energy design strategies. Heat stress could be lowered from “Extreme” to “Moderate” due to a dense urban fabric and its ability to “contain” the effect of the applied strategies.

The area next to the Burj, representing the modern Dubai, due to its shear scale, showed moderate improvements to the applied strategies but nonetheless offers a continuous scope for improvement in pedestrian comfort.

Comparison and quantification through ENVI-met software show a significant reduction in heat stress levels in both scenarios and further highlight the huge potential that Dubai has in both creating and setting an example of great outdoor spaces.
 

 

This website uses cookies so that we can provide you with the best user experience possible. If you continue using this site we will assume that you are happy with it. Read more in our privacy statement